James Harrison Wants No Part Of Barack Obama’s Super Bowl Congratulations Scheme

James Harrison says he won’t be accepting Barack Obama’s invitation to the White House, and gives the following iron-clad reasoning:

“If you want to see the Pittsburgh Steelers, invite us when we don’t win the Super Bowl,” he told Pittsburgh’s WTAE-TV. “So as far as I’m concerned he would have invited Arizona if they had won.”

Well, yes, James, that’s exactly the point — the President is inviting you to the White House specifically to congratulate your team on winning the Super Bowl, there’s no pretense or hidden agenda here. It’s not like some deadbeat dad is randomly coming out of the woodwork to ask to borrow money because you won the Super Bowl, this happens to every team that wins a championship in every sport.

Believe it or not, George W. Bush did not happen to be close personal friends with the 2003 Florida Marlins; he wasn’t like “Oh wow, I was gonna invite Todd Hollandsworth and Tim Spooneybarger to the White House anyway, as Presidents often do to random professional athletes, but now everyone’s just gonna think I’m inviting them cause they won the World Series!”

Tags: , ,

One Response to “James Harrison Wants No Part Of Barack Obama’s Super Bowl Congratulations Scheme”

  1. Mark Says:

    I totally understand his position. My boss was going to give me an award for good work on a recent project… and I said: “No thanks, you’re only giving me this because I busted tail on that project. You want to give me an award? Give it to me after I’ve just coasted for a few months – then it’ll mean something.”

Leave a Reply

