Boucher Retires; Penguins Enter Rebuilding Phase

ESPN:

Penguins veteran defenseman Philippe Boucher announced his retirement Thursday, going out in style as a Stanley Cup champion.

“For the past 17 years I have been living my dream of playing hockey in the National Hockey League,” Boucher, 36, said in a statement. “After finishing this season with the Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins, I realized that is time for me to walk away from the game I love. I have always admired athletes that have retired as champions and I am humbled to have the chance to count myself among them.”

Ahhhh, crap. We knew the core wasn’t gonna stay together forever, but it’s definitely time to trade Crosby and Malkin for draft picks, cut some cap room, and start thinking about building long-term around Jay McKee.

Tags:

One Response to “Boucher Retires; Penguins Enter Rebuilding Phase”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    really stupid post

Leave a Reply

